Care of 2007 Iveco 3.0 ltr - best practice (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
We recently bought a 2007 Niesmann-Bischoff Arto which is on an Iveco 3.0 ltr 160 bhp engine. It had done 24000 miles when we got it about 6 weeks ago.

This week was our first trip away to Wales and we did about 600 miles. On the return journey the engine fault light came on for the last couple of hours of the journey but then didn't come on again when engine was restarted later.

We had a very bad experience with our last car which was a Mitsubishi Grandis on a 2.0 ltr VW diesel engine (our first ever diesel). After about 50k miles it started going repeatedly into limp mode and there was clearly some issues with carbon deposits. Despite changing a few parts at considerable cost we never really got to the bottom of it and ended up having to get rid of the car.

All of that has made me really nervous of engine fault lights! I felt really gutted today when the light came on - thinking that we might end up in the same place with our van which we love.
I also worry that if there was a persistent problem we might not be able to sell the van and get our money back.

Obviously if the falut light returns then we can get the fault-code reading but for now...

How worried should we be about deposits in an engine that has only done 24k? Am I being stupid? Is this actually more likely to be something else?

I am really keen that we give the engine the best possible care and do whatever we can to avoid carbon deposits. How can we best do that? What could we do to shift any stuff that may already have built up?
Should we use fuel additives?
Does it make a big difference which fuel supplier you use? Is it worth paying for higher grade diesel?

I hear and read conflicting things about all this stuff - so would particularly like to know where can I find a definitive guide to best practice for care of this engine if it exists.