Canbus decoder needed for new electrical vehicle accessories? (1 Viewer)

MobWunderlust

Free Member
Mar 8, 2021
SE London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a brand newbie
Hi,
I recently picked up an Elddis Autoquest 165 and am wanting to add some accessories to it such as reversing camers, GPS tracker, 4G internet or satellite antenna, etc.

Do I need to fit a Canbus decoder to supply power to these new accessories, as I assume I just cant simpy 'cut into' power supply cables that feed the vehicles various elements. (eg: had thought to use the power to the above-windscreen cabin lights to supply power to the reversing camera monitor which clips over the reversing mirror).

Or would the LV fuse board used for existing motorhome specific items (LED lights, heater, water pump, etc) be the best place to run new power feeds for any new items? The problem here I see is that the switch for 'motorhome' items would need to be on to run these new accessories (not ideal in the case of the items I mentioned).

I think I really want power from the boxer's main engine battery right?

If so can someone recommend a good decoder? and/or any other suggections...

Thanks!

Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
If there are spare fuse ways on your panel you can use them or you can add another fuse box to either battery its more usual to run from the leisure's for hab accessories as you dont want to be adding to the van battery as you could wind up unable to start
re the reversing camera you don't need a permanent live feed you require a cable from the revesing light circuit unless you want a rearview thats always on
depending on the load of what your adding you can piggy back from existing circuits ie extra lights on a lighting circuit

Jun 12, 2016
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Globecar Revolution
Exp
Since 2006
Easiest to use piggyback fuse holders from existing fuse box simples