Can anyone recommend a cheap 7" GPS off Fleabay with co-ordinate input?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by celticmini, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. celticmini

    celticmini Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +133
    Hi,

    Just bought a great 7" GPS for a truck, it is great but does not have full postcode search or more importantly co-ordinate input. I was hoping to use it for my next trip to Germany.

    I need co-ordinate input for stelplatz finding!

    Can anyone recommend one?

    Mine only cost £36 so will keep it for my car! But I need one for the van!!

    regards

    Steve
     
  2. Goronwy

    Goronwy

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Varies
    Ratings:
    +18
    So if it doesn't do postcode search and co-ordinate input,what does it do?
     
  3. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +3,935
    Which one have you bought a lot of people on here use cheap chinese sat navs and they can be used as you want it just takes some getting used to!! (eg. for postcode search put it in the town box)

    David
     
  4. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,067
    If the software it is running is IGO Primo then it does both Postcode and coordinate input Postcode as David says and coordinate via the "more" tab at the bottom of the find menu. I think that is correct from meory

    John
     
  5. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,181
    Postcodes are useful in the UK and I believe also in the Netherlands. In a lot of countries, France for example, a postcode covers a large area so not much good for navigating. The cheap Chinese one does take postcodes and coordinates and many of us have them.
    I wouldn't like to use one as a sole satnav though as several people have had them 'crash' on them for no apparent reason. This happened to me and I got it going again eventually, but it would have been a problem at the time if I didn't have two other satnavs going as well (TomTom and Snooper)
     
  6. celticmini

    celticmini Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +133
    Thank you all for your help. Yes postcodes can be input via the TOWN but I stil cant find a way to input coordinates, any further suggestions?

    Thanks again!

    Steve
     
  7. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,046
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +14,227
    I would get a cheap 7 inch tablet with gps, work just as good as cheap satnavs and you can put coordinates or post code or whatever you want and even get a google earth photo of where you are going, had all sorts of satnavs but never anything as good as a nexus 7, and that's ignore ing all the other stuff it can do
     
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,046
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +14,227
    Better than ipad they seem to big on your dash
     
  9. PaulyP

    PaulyP Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,845
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3,734
    As Lunarman says, mine shows first page with Find, favourites, and a couple of other things.
    Click on find then at the bottom click on more you can then access coordinates.
    Mine has been very accurate when used.
     
  10. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    We use a Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 (8in) - running Co-Pilot
    Plus run Autoguard dashcam app, and play music while on the go.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    That's right.
     
  12. celticmini

    celticmini Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +133
    Hi,

    No luck, my MORE options gives me QWERTY and a list of languages etc for keypad input, but nothing to accept coordinates.

    I will use it in the UK and go back to my old GARMIN for the trip to Germany!

    Thanks everyone anyway.

    I looked into the option of using my Galaxy 3 Tab, but the maps cost more than a GPS! CoPilot for the continent is about £50.

    Steve
     
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,046
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +14,227
    You don't need copilot, google maps or navfree is quite adequate both accept coordinates and both free and will get you anywhere, we've always got back with em anyway(y)
     
  14. oldun

    oldun Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    St Neots
    Ratings:
    +160
    If I buy a cheap satnav then I would need to know the age of the maps on board and if the maps are updatable.

    Even sat navs with updatable maps have maps that are as bit out of date and I find this very irritating so using a cheap sat nave with very old maps would be worse than useless.
     
  15. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,544
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,892
    Better go to Specsavers, it's £27.99.
     
  16. jenny and mitch

    jenny and mitch Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,235
    Location:
    Bungay Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +2,690
    If you have an I-Pad download TomTom from the internet for about £60. Then you can stick the I-Pad up in the dash and look at a good sized screen !!!
     
  17. yorkieman

    yorkieman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Yorkshire (nr. Leeds)
    Ratings:
    +257
    This is a good suggestion. I picked up a brand new 8" Samsung Galaxy Tab for just £130. I know it was last years model, but it really doesn't matter as it is the latest Android OS.

    There's heaps of SatNav apps to choose from and some of them store everything on the tablet so you don't need to use up data as you do on some phone satnavs.

    My TomTom and Kenwood/Garmin are gathering dust now as the tablet satnavs are much easier to keep up-to-date and I've found them to be a LOT more accurate as far as root planning is concerned.
     
  18. tambo

    tambo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    875
    Location:
    Dunfermline fife scotland
    Ratings:
    +644
    I use an a a map book costs £1.99 and a free app called waze on my mobile phone

    Don't know about in Germany but in france there were signs everywhere for aires never used the book or satnav to find one.
     
Loading...

Share This Page