Campervan speed restrictions? (1 Viewer)

Oct 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Checking on the government website coach built Motorhomes under 3.05 tonnes unladen speed limits are the same as cars. But over 3.05 tonnes have the reduced speed restrictions.

But interestingly is that campervans. Panel vans. Have I read it correctly, campervans have speed restrictions? Unless under 2040kg

Dual-purpose van speed limit exemptions

There is another exemption to be aware of: dual-purpose vehicles under 2040kg don’t have to comply with the reduced speed limit.

What is a dual-purpose vehicle? Well, a campervan is a dual-purpose vehicle providing the V5C registration document says it is a 'motor caravan', but if it is a non-manufacturer conversion, it may not be classed as one and could still be registered as an LCV and therefore subject to their rules.

Kombi vans or double-cab vans are also dual-purpose. Their extra row of seats makes them exempt from the rules, providing they are below the 2040kg unladen weight rule.

Read last paragraph of the link below....

Phil89a

Free Member
Apr 22, 2021
Middlewich, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 600 SPB
Exp
Question again is what is a Campervan and what is a motorhome? If this forum can’t agree, then not sure anyone knows 😀

My view is based on the Government‘s page on Speed Limits, and I assume the 2 tonne weight doesn’t apply as we drive “Motorhomes or Motor Caravans” (as you say, as long as we are recorded correctly by DVLC)

Deleted User
The DVLA use the term Motor Caravan rather than Motor Home or Campervan.

With regard to Panel Vans - if the vehicle’s body type is not changed to ‘motor caravan’, the vehicle can still be used for this purpose as long as the keeper is satisfied the converted vehicle meets the required internal features for motor caravans.