Free Member
Feb 21, 2015
Whitby
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
New
Hello campers I'm brand new to campervans and forums so please bare with me.Ive just bought a Mercedes van conversion .its got 1 leisure battery connected to the engine and 240v hook up.I just wondered what people thought would be the best type of heating to have when you cant use your hook up.people have mentioned extra battery's and inverters so any advice would be grateful

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
Hi you will kill any batts with a inverter and heating --you need either gas or diesel heating -Propex gas = £500 or Truma gas =750 and webasto/esbacher diesel =950 all ish --of course if on hook up £10 fan heater will do
terry

Upvote 0
Dec 27, 2014
Funster No
Hi and welcome.
Inverter and battery not suitable for heating I'm afraid.
Gas is probably the way to go or you can fit a warm blowing air system.... Like this
Broken Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Popeye

Deceased RIP
Sep 5, 2011
edge of New Forest
Funster No
MH
Frankia Platin Plus
Exp
On and off since 1983
Two very sound replies there.........and even the Ebespacher/Webasto type of products are fairly greedy on 12volt.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
S

Simbawright

Free Member
Feb 21, 2015
Whitby
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
New
Thanks for the replies does the ebespacher diesel system run hot water as well as the heating and if so any ideas how much to get fitted

Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
as said.. you can't use 12v for heating..

if on a tight budget you could fit a gas catalytic heater .. http://www.motorcaravanning.co.uk/shopuk/therm_x.htm

but would suggest this is just short term and you should plan to fit a Truma combination heater that heats water and has a warm air blown heater ..

does you van have ANY gas appliances fitted .. ie cooker , water heater, fridge or oven ?