Free Member
Jan 14, 2012
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, my husband wants a motorhome for his 40th. We've never had one before but are looking to take one across to Europe for a 3 week tour. Will be 6K be enough to buy one and what recommendations have you got. We've got two children (4 and 6) and will probably staying in campsites as we drive through France to Italy, then back through Switzerland. Any advice greatfully received!

Thanks
Rhian

PS Just spotted a 6 berth Fiat Kontiki on ebay - 20 yrs old but only done 60K miles. Will it make it?

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
hiya welcome to the fun. yes it possibly would . like all things would need a good inspection.
just a quick thought . 3 weeks isnt long to go racing across euope for the first time . if you could maybe just restrict yourselves to france with might be a better idea. in summer campsites can be full. there are moor park ups that are free. aires just for m,homes. you can buy the book for them in any french super market . they are sold here but are expensive in uk.
anyway look at every m,home you see talk with the owners . visit everyb m,home dealer you can . you really need to try and find one that suits you . its said you buy two that dont first .i always used vw t2,s when my kids were young . later had a vw t25 hightop . but there is lots of choice out there.
lots will give advice take it all in . every one as different wants . but ask ,ask ask, sit in as many as you can. lie on the bed does it feel good. can you feel good times . stand at the cooker does it feel good . can you hear the kids laughing and having fun. if not move on .
but have fun and ask ask ask .

OP
OP
R

Rhian

Free Member
Jan 14, 2012
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Many thanks for the advice, are there any makes / models you think I should keep away from?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements