Buying a Motor Home for the First Time Advice Needed (1 Viewer)

Pavb2

Free Member
Apr 5, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don’t own one yet
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi All

I currently have a Swift/Sprite caravan but looking to part ex at a dealer and get a second hand Motor Home in September' ish, the long term plan is to tour Europe. I'm researching the internet trying to gain as much info as possible but acknowledge I will only get a better idea once I can get out to shows and to dealers.

The Sprite is considered to be an entry level caravan but I've had no problems with it so happy to get the Motor Home equivalent, is there is such a thing?

I want something reliable, 4/5 berth though there will only be me and the wife. Nothing too long length wise, about 6.5 metres preferably with a drop down bed as I'd rather have the living space. The Hymer 544 or Classic type etc seems to fit the bill as I like the kitchen at the back but this is not a dealbreaker. I know the Hymers are sought after and ultimately I'm going to be restricted to what is available at any given time so I know I'm going to have to compromise somewhere but also don't want to narrow my field too much by just sticking to one make or model. Are there any equivalents to the Hymer made by other manufacturer's?

So what is the oldest MH I should go for? Maximum mileage? Minimum /Max engine size? I don't mind L/H or R/H drive as it will probably be used 50% UK 50% Europe, so should I buy abroad? I know they are cheaper in Germany etc but likewise I appreciate resale value will be less.

Are there any makes to avoid? Dealers you can recommend?

Due to work I'm based in the midlands area. Budget will be £10k - £30K. The two motor homes below are examples of what I think I'm looking for.

http://www.westmidlandcaravans.co.u...s-avantgarde-200-motorhome-coventry-mk0070ab2

To my untrained eye the Royale seems decent for the price but is it too old?