Buying a motor home and laws in Spain (1 Viewer)

JoyJoy

Free Member
May 10, 2017
South West England
Funster No
MH
Peugeot Boxer
Exp
I'm a newbie
help please
My brother lives in Spain and would also like to own and use a motor home over there.
Has anyone any info on EITHER buying in Spain or U.K. for use in Spain

1) Info on good reliable makes of older model MH (my brother is an older model too! Shhh don't let on! )
2) budget is small hence older model but could contemplate converting a van.
3) are there any specific laws he should know about .... lights, size, insurance or anything relevant please.
4) Spanish registration?m

Big thank you in advance !

Last edited:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I think converting a van is out of the question due to certificate of compliant rules.
A cert of comp will only be issued by a recognised converter.
Even France can be a problem if the hab door is on the left.

Upvote 0

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
hi, get your brother to have a chat with dieter fron vwcampersonthego@yahoo.de
they are at alhaurin de la torre near malaga . dieter as been converting vans and trucks for years . he will be able to guide him. he is german but speaks good english . been a mate for best part of 20yrs .
tell him i recommended him . if he cant help then your really in trouble . cheers alan .

Upvote 0
Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
If he is a Spanish resident he cannot drive anything foreign registered. If he is & buys a spanish one then he can drive it anywhere.
If he isn't a spanish resident but buys a spanish registered one then he can drive it anywhere except in the Uk (where I would assume he would be resident) Family could drive it anywhere except UK the same.