Free Member
Nov 29, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, we're a young family with a couple of young kids looking to buy a MH for a 6 month trip around Europe next year. We've got £20k to spend, and think we need a 6 berth, maybe with a garage. What should we look out for when buying? Any tips gratefully received, however obvious you think they might be!
We've considered a LHD, but would this be harder to sell?
Has anyone done a similar trip?

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
Adequate payload ?

Enough space to park it at home ?

Full / part / no service history ?

Full / part / no habitation service history ?

Tyre condition ? = age of tyres is as important as wear.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 4, 2016
West Sussex, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer B680 Starline
Exp
Long term a few years now.
All of the above , and check any mh you may choose for damp.

If you become a full member cost 15 pounds,cheap in the grand scheme of owning a mh , you can download the motor home buyers guide (y)

And a big :welcome4:by the way.

Upvote 0
Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980
Before buying, make a list of what is most important for your needs. I guess 6 berth would be high on the list. Storage for clothes and food including bed linen. Washing facilities and cooking could also be important but before any of these considerations check for damp. Damp can be more expensive than mere welding or engine problems. Most dealers should be able to arrange a damp test, if they cannot; walk away. One of the best detection tools can be your nose, if the van has an odd or unpleasant odour; walk away. Sometime dealers and sellers will spray deodorant or open windows to disperse any smells. I personally open ever cupboard to smell inside, the smell should be pleasant and often a little woody.