Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Advantage
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi friends, I am about to become a newbie and will be traveling aprox 9- 10 months per year, we recently saw a Dethleff 7057 witch my wife liked, have could anyone tell me where to buy a new one from uk or have you any advice...thank you

Jun 10, 2010
Shrewsbury (sometimes)
Funster No
MH
N&B Clou Liner MAN
Exp
I would advise you NOT to buy new if you re a newbie. We all go into motorhoming with a bit of a wish list and then when you start actually using it you are likely to find that some of your preconceptions do not fit the way you thought: You do/do not use the garage, you do/ do not like the front/rear lounge, you love the French Bed/ you find it a bit narrow etc etc

I'm always surprised how many people are reluctant to ask for a test drive.

IMHO it generally takes people at least 2 vans to find the right one and sometimes many more, We met someone who had had 7 vans in 7 years?? Its far less painless to trade up/move on a good secondhand MH than trade in a 1 year old one.

My recommendation for a newbie, secondhand Hymer - every single time

Jon

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 22, 2007
essex
Funster No
MH
2017 sunlight t69s euro6
Exp
since 1999
I would advise you NOT to buy new if you re a newbie. We all go into motorhoming with a bit of a wish list and then when you start actually using it you are likely to find that some of your preconceptions do not fit the way you thought: You do/do not use the garage, you do/ do not like the front/rear lounge, you love the French Bed/ you find it a bit narrow etc etc

IMHO it generally takes people at least 2 vans to find the right one and sometimes many more, We met someone who had had 7 vans in 7 years?? Its far less painless to trade up/move on a good secondhand MH than trade in a 1 year old one.

Jon
good advice i am on my 3rd

OP
OP
Paul and Pippa

Paul and Pippa

Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH