Buy and keep MH in Spain while living in UK? (1 Viewer)

Sep 14, 2020
Brighton & Hove
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm planning on buying a motorhome, probably in 2021. I'm doing a lot of research at present. I will be buying a second-hand vehicle.

The ideal way for me to do it, I think, is to buy it in Spain and keep it in Spain.

I've been looking at discussions about this here and at other places on the Internet.

I get the impression that if the vehicle is registered in the UK then it has to come back to the UK for an MOT every year. Also it could only be in Spain for six months at a time.

I do know people who have a villa in Spain and a car there in Spain while at the same time they have their home in the UK. So I am thinking that what I would need really is an address in Spain.

I'm wondering if it would be possible to register and insure the vehicle in Spain using a PO Box or something like that?

If need be I could keep the vehicle in Spain for six months and then bring it back to the UK for six months. However I think it would be easier just to keep it in Spain all the time.

Anyway I'd appreciate any comments to put me in the right direction for research.

Thank you!

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
I think Abbeygate are in Spain and typically use an underwriter in Madrid. There is another insurer who is in Gib whose name escapes me at the moment, sorry. Both are good and I usually play one of against another annually, Abbeygate always trumps but needs a push!
Ibex ?

Upvote 0
Aug 29, 2013
Spain
Funster No
MH
A Class N & B Flair
Exp
Since 2014
It is quite possible to be 'resident' without being a 'tax resident' & a 'tax resident' without being a 'resident'