Buy a Burstner A class with 'mild' damp? (1 Viewer)

Bre

Free Member
Dec 6, 2017
Funster No
Hello again helpful MHFunsters,

After my previous threads, the wife and I are looking at Burstners, both here and on mobile.de.

I have come across 2 A class with 'mild' damp problems, photos attached.

I do repair work for a living, so I am not adverse to taking on a small project. I am adverse to spending months and £1000's on a project.

So do any of you have an opinion, or even better, experience, on the extent of the work as shown in the problems?

Besides 'run away', which I am happy for you to say.

Let the yelling begin.

And thank you ahead of time for your time.
DSCN1072.JPG
DSCN1073.JPG
IMG_8311.jpg
IMG_8312.jpg
IMG_8313.jpg
IMG_8314.jpg

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I have come across 2 A class with 'mild' damp problems, photos attached.

I do repair work for a living

Then you should know, that like icebergs, what you see is a fraction of the problem.

As long as they are very cheap you might take a gamble.

"Mild damp", that's like saying "you've only got mild lung cancer".

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Not that a person can tell much from a photo

Definitely and a damp meter can only tell you it's damp. You don't find the truth 'till you rip holes in it and stab the frame with a screwdriver.

One picture looks like the mild damp may be lifting the rubber seal, that does not seem mild to me.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
B

Bre

Free Member
Dec 6, 2017
Funster No
Yes, there seems to be a well-priced A532 with no mention of problems and 90,000 miles, although I don't much like the 'quiff' we may go for something like that.
I'll be interested in what the 'experts' say but I'm in the run camp...
Damp in different locations?
How do you know it's "mild"?