BT whole home and Huawei B818 mesh advice please. (1 Viewer)

Oct 8, 2014
Todmorden
Funster No
MH
Compactline 143
Exp
I'm a newbie and always will be. You never know it all.
I have just cancelled my BT contract in favour of a payg wifi system. I have done quite a lot of speed testing with the 2 Huawei routers that I have and get really good up load and download speeds in my area. The latency however does lag behind the BT broadband but for my use this shouldn't be a problem.

My thoughts are to disable the DHCP server on the BT hub and then assign the Huawei to the same domain as the DHCP server.
However the way I understand it the whole home disc (mesh range extender) will not work directly with the Huawei unless being wired directly to the Huawei which I don't want.
So if the BT home hub 2 is in slave mode but is connected to the home disk will the Huawei be able to assign ip addresses through the wifi disk.

I am an amateur so any advice on the above set up or a better way of achieving a good signal everywhere utilising the above equipment would be much appreciated.

Les

Coolcats

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 24, 2019
Funster No
MH
HymerCar Ayres Rock
The BT Home hub 2 is a router connecting you to the internet (gateway) Why do you want to disable DHCP? The default gateway is is typically 192.168.1.254. This unit will not be a slave. Without a hand book can’t tell what you are looking at but the chances are they will be PnP units (Plug and Play). What this means is plug the Huawei unit in to a ip port on your BT router the DHCP will automatically assign an IP address to your Huawei unit. Depending on the set up the BT router ‘May’ assign other IP addresses or it may be it only needs to assign one address. You will then see this on the BT routing table when you log in to your BT router

AndyPK

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 7, 2015
Cirencester
Funster No
MH
None……..!
Exp
Motorhoming since 2015......