Brakes explanation required. (3 Viewers)

Clipgate

Free Member
Jan 1, 2014
Folkestone
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
This is a challenge I faced however not on a new or nearly fleet of Peugeot Fiat vans, but on two motorhomes of 7 year old vintage and one of 9.
I am a qualified motor engineer and lapsed MOT 3 to 7 tester.
I did not accept the fault then or would I now.
On both occasions I stripped the system, overhauled the master cylinder, replaced brake hoses and rear brake compensator, reset compensator as manual etc.
Following this minimal brake pedal creep certainly not to the floor.
I believe someone has hit the salient point, on a long downhill descent with components heating and possibility of braking degradation, I would not want to be in a heavily laden van or Motorhome with the pedal getting ever more closer to the floor.
Good technique is vital of course using engine braking reducing speed etc.
However when comes to shove a pedal that goes to the floor after prolonged application is not a situation I am going to be happy with.
As always it's a matter of degree, but never forget you only find out the results of an action or inaction after the event quite often

OP
OP
Jackd
Nov 7, 2020
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Tourer
Exp
No longer a Newbie
Did you see my description in post 30?
I have seen that, yes thank you.
My question would be, why not use a less powerful servo unit. Thus not having the power to force fluid past the seals and back to the tank. Surly this would cure the “phenomenon” of diesel creep. Yey or ney?

OP
OP
Jackd
Nov 7, 2020
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Tourer
Exp
No longer a Newbie
This is a challenge I faced however not on a new or nearly fleet of Peugeot Fiat vans, but on two motorhomes of 7 year old vintage and one of 9.
I am a qualified motor engineer and lapsed MOT 3 to 7 tester.
I did not accept the fault then or would I now.