Bought Subject to a Test Drive :) (1 Viewer)

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Got a test drive of our intended motor-home today.
We put a deposit down in lieu of the results of the test drive on Sunday.

Now those fears of a hurried transaction are creeping in :eek:
There's an advisory on our vehicles MOT:
  • Nearside Front inner sill corroded
  • Offside Front inner sill slight corroded
Where do you look for those?
That's the lower section of bodywork were it folds back under, right? The 'L' bit

The test drive should help. Look for the vehicle to keep going where I last aimed it - esp. under breaking. Our vehicle is ~5.7 long so should drive a little like a heavy car, right?

It's a dealer purchase who I hope will be with the wife & I for the multi year ownership journey...
Positive thoughts...

6month warranty, new 12month MOT & habit service are in the deal...

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Have you read the buyer's guide in the resources section? If not do it quick!

Upvote 0
Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
I think you are worrying needlessly , the advisories are sometimes written up to show they have looked , and they will mention something that can be justified (slightly) , I would be amazed if even a vehicle a couple of years old would not be capable of having that advisory . The devil is in the detail as they say , have a look yourself , it will be easily visible. Rectification might just involve wire bush and rust treatment , and waxing .