Boiler emptying itself - Hymer B544 (1 Viewer)

3874helen

Free Member
Feb 16, 2017
France
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Novice
***sorry I'm new here and I posted a message to forum but not under Tech/Mech General and have been recommended to post my query in here too***

Hello all,

This is my first time on a forum, so I'm sorry if I'm doing it wrong or typing in the wrong place. It looks interesting the information about Rallies and other peoples travels. I can't wait to read more! At the moment though...I’m just wondering if there’s anyone with the same or similar model motorhome who might be able to offer some advice.

We have just bought our first Hymer, it’s a B544 year 2000 left hand drive with a Traumatic C system with boiler and heating via gas. I filled the water tanks today and then opened the hot water taps in the bathroom and kitchen to fill the boiler. I left the taps running until all of the air appeared to have come out of the taps and then turned them off and turned on the hot water boiler on the control panel (on the side, exterior of the wardrobe. The boiler is in the base of the wardrobe.)

The yellow light came on (on the panel) as indicated in the handbook and then when the yellow light went off (I checked and it had after about 20 minutes) I ran the hot water…it let a little water out for about a second and then spluttered and was forcing air out all over again for quite a few minutes. After that the water ran freely….but it was completely cold(n)(n). The yellow light came back on the control panel and so I thought I’ll leave it for 50 minutes, maybe I’d not given it enough time (being a complete novice). I came back again and the exact same thing happenedo_O.