Bikes with a PVC (1 Viewer)

Vibranium

Free Member
Feb 16, 2021
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Hi all.
I am new to motorhomes etc. Having rented a couple of times, am now thinking of buying.
I believe a hightop panel van conversion with rear permanent bed would suit. However, i would like to take a couple of bicycles when we go on trips (at least one electric). I believe you can have a bike rack on a PVC, but am concened about security and weight limit. I would rather not leave the bikes on the back when parked in towns, or away from the camp site, and was looking at the Globecar Campscout Revolution as possibly a wsy to put the bikes inside when not actualy travelling, but they seem to have stopped making them.
Has anybody any thoughts on or solutions to this issue?

Thanks

Aug 26, 2008
B&NES
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
since 2007
There are other PVCs that have a transverse rear bed that either can be raised, or folded in half laterally to accomodate full size bikes. Folding bikes like my ancient classic Bickerton would be my preferred option.

w2f

Upvote 0
OP
OP
V

Vibranium

Free Member
Feb 16, 2021
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Thanks for replies:
I think cheap electric bike is an oxymoron. Plus, i would like to cover a good few km, so a heavy old bike would not be ideal.

The fold up bed solution may work, but it looks like it would use all storage space.

I think Possl still do the electrically raised bed: does anybody know if Possl are available in UK, if they can be imported, or if any other manufacturer does them?

Upvote 0

Top Dog

Free Member
Aug 27, 2020
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
None at present
Exp
David has 6 years experience as a full-timer in Australia (2002-2008). RV: "Winnebago Longreach".
I would suggest looking at the Adria 640 Supreme SGX. This model is designed for the job at hand. Good luck with your search.
Regards, David

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jun 12, 2016
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH