Free Member
Dec 18, 2016
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Pioneer Tasman
Exp
New to it
Hi. I'm new to motor homes and keen not to do any damage while fitting bits & pieces! I've bought a Thule bike rack, which requires bolts to be placed right through the wall. I can position one bolt to be on plain inner wall above the sink, but I don't think I have any alternative to placing the other right trough into the shower lining. I worry that tightening the bolt, or tension caused by the weight of the bike, might crack it. Is this likely to cause problems, and can anybody please give me any tips? The van is an Autocruise Pioneer Tasman. Cheers, Andrew

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I don't think I have any alternative to placing the other right trough into the shower lining. I worry that tightening the bolt, or tension caused by the weight of the bike, might crack it. Is this likely to cause problems,

Hi Andrew, in my opinion, it will give problems.. I wouldn't do it..

Rather contact Autocruise for guidance, they may have installed batons in the wall to support a bike rack.. ask if your rack is suitable or if they advise fitting a specific model..

May 8, 2010
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2010
I know nothing about fitting bike racks, but I would check that by fitting it yourself, you're not potentially invalidating your habitation warranty. I'm only familiar with Hymer warranty conditions, which require items such as bike racks to be fitted by a Hymer authorised dealer.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
I contacted Burstner when I fitted my bike rack, they sent me a diagram showing the locations of the strengthening batons in the back wall. I offset the rack slightly to one side to avoid putting bolts in the shower area and adjusted the wheel troughs to centralise the bikes, which is ok as long as they don't overhang too far from the wall brackets.

Jim