biggest beginner question ever??

Discussion in 'Motorhome Help for the Beginner' started by dryden1407, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. dryden1407

    dryden1407

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    north east scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    we've just picked up an 09 autotrail Cheyenne 696g,,,i'm not sure if there's a switch somewhere we cant see or whether there is just limited power unless hooked into the mains but
    are the leisure batteries just 12v and only power the led's ? should the leisure batteries power the sockets ,main lights,fridge and electric plate on the cooker when not into the mains? because at the moment they don't,on the display it says leisure battery good at 12.6v and vehicle battery good at 12.5v,,there is an extra leisure battery too
    also the waste tank read out says 100% full although I've emptied it,,faulty sensor?
    I've tried looking through previous posts but not found my answer yet,,so thanks for any response
     
  2. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,660
    hi welcome,

    your 12v liesure batteries will only power your 12v sockets ( cigar type ) an your lights , pump etc. your normal 3 pin sockets and mains lighting if you have any and cooker electric plate need 240v hook up to mains.

    sounds as if the sensor on the waste tank is either stuck if its a float type or faulty if its a ultra sonic type.

    plug yourself ( van that is :Doh: ) into the mains at home and see what you get.:thumb:
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,350
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,994
    Ref the waste tank... Assuming that you have not confused the toilet cassette with the "grey" water waste tank...
    Open the large grey tap under the van and see if anything comes out ( old bucket may help).. It could well be a stuck sensor and it may start working once some actual water is sloshing about in the tank.. Those level meters and sensors are never accurate....

    As above, mains sockets etc will only work when you are plugged into the mains...

    Welcome to motorhoming and FUN..
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  4. Merle

    Merle Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +249
    I'm not sure whether all set ups are the same but our fridge will only work on 12 volt when the engine is running. The interior light will work but not the chiller
     
  5. Terry

    Terry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,960
    Location:
    South yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,184
    Hi and welcome :thumb: Just to add fridge will only work on 12v while engine is running :Smile:
     
  6. B-well

    B-well Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Kent coast
    Ratings:
    +1,195
    my fridge only works when full of beer, funny that:ROFLMAO: hope you solve the rest of your issues.
     
  7. dryden1407

    dryden1407

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    north east scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks for the quick reply's
    to give you a laugh ,my wife's face was a picture when she realised when away without hook up she wouldn't have her hair plug ins,,lol
    should I really tell her now about generators(assuming they would replicate 240v hook up when connected)?
    we did hook up to our mains and got everything working so at least that's something eh
    i'll get the water tanks filled and and emptied to fill the grey tank to see what happens tomorrow
    thanks again for the reply's
    oh,,the led strip in the bedroom flickers,,are these an easy change?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Carol

    Carol Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,836
    Location:
    North Wales.
    Ratings:
    +21,981
    One plan get a good solar panel on top or maybe two and a invertor, 12 v hair dryers no problem . Welcome to Motorhome Fun :thumb:
     
  9. camocam1

    camocam1

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Elgin,Moray,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +783
    had the exact same questions when we got our 1st van except I was not a member of the forum then and phoned the dealer on his mobile on the Sunday night as was trying things out at home and felt a right plonker when he explained about the sockets. Still learning every day
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Ed Excel

    Ed Excel Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    Ratings:
    +588
    You can buy LED 12V lighting in various lengths from eBay. They come with adhesive backing. You need to count how many LEDs there are per metre, 30 or 60 and decide if you want bright or warm white. If your diffusers are like mine, ribbed semicircular, you push them in the middle with a finger to make them spread and pop a small screwdriver under the edge to release them. Your existing strip should just be stuck to the luminaire base.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  11. monk

    monk

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Fairburn North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try putting some cleaning fluid in your waste tank and fill it up water it worked for me with my Savannah (dish washer fluid)
     
  12. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,601
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    Ratings:
    +6,061
    The waste tank on our new van generally shows its full just after I have emptied it. The sensors are not very accurate or robust. We have the van booked in to the dealers next week to get it looked at, meanwhile, I have disconnected the tank electrics and just empty it when I fill the fresh water tank. They hold about the same and I never fully empty the fresh water tank so I know the waste will never overflow
    Allan
     
  13. Angus dog

    Angus dog

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +153
    All of your queries seem to have been answered very fully.We also have a Cheyenne 696g and we wondered if you have had any problems with the 4 locks on the garage.We cannot lock them unless pressure is applied from the inside---- not a practical option.Have you or other fun steers any suggestions.We will probably have to go back to the dealer which seems crazy for something which is probably easy to resolve
     
  14. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3,170
    We've just collected an Autotrail Dakota at the weekend and are a bit puzzled by the question about the fridge running off the leisure battery.
    As far as we know the fridge will only operate off either EHU, vehicle battery when running or off gas.

    As soon as we turn our vehicle ignition on, all 12 volt is negated or are we missing something?

    One thing that is puzzling us with our fridge is that we can't get it to switch to the gas setting when we stop for a break. The dealer showed us it working after it failed, but we can't get it working again.

    Bill
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  15. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3,170

    I was sure I had locked one of the side lockers before we left today, yet it was open by the time we reached the CC site at Lower Wensleydale:RollEyes:
    Will be keeping a close eye on these now

    Bill
     
  16. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3,170
    We've just been south to collect our second van and one of the staff at the dealers gave me another staff member's mobile number...........I think he might very soon regret doing this and change his mobile number:ROFLMAO:

    I'm going to be straight on the phone to him tomorrow, so I hope he's got his tin helmet on before the sticky brown stuff hits the fan:roflmto:

    Bill
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  17. Blodwyn Pig

    Blodwyn Pig

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +26
    Bought our first camper in July and took it to a local site overnight as a proving run. EHU nothing worked! Began checking the CB and fuses, rang the dealer and went through the same procedure again. Just about to return to the dealer when I noticed a hadn't connected the EHU lead to the EHU tower! :Blush:

    What a muppet! :Smile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  18. Lindylooj

    Lindylooj

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Weymouth, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +81
    Hi Bill, glad the van collection went well. I read the book (yes I did) and it said about the fridge that if you have it on auto it will recognise the voltage and switch to 12v/240 if on EHU itself so that is what I leave it on unless using gas and it seems to work fine.
    regards Lynn :Smile:
     
  19. maz

    maz Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    Out there somewhere
    Ratings:
    +2,321
    If it's an AES fridge, they're normally set with a 15 min delay before they'll switch over to gas after running the engine. It's a safety thing - don't want your fridge trying to light up on a filling station forecourt. :Eeek:
     
  20. Scout

    Scout Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,856
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +27,644
    autotrail interior lighting, MOST autotrails have some 12v and some 240v lighting so some will work on 12v and all will work when on 240v.

    autotrail tank sensors (and tempreture sensors) are manly rubbish, the tank sensors are pins at verying hights in the side of the tanks, the wires have been know to connected in the wrong order, they break due to road vibration, they crud over inside the tank due to waist contamination, they are basicly best left alone and forgoton about.

    However if you really want to try and get them working a few cupfulls of bio washing powder and a tankfull of really hot water into the waist tank and a good run on bendy roads helps ( you will be supprised at what come out when drained)

    I find a full fresh tank will last 3 to 4 days when its empty water stops comeing from the taps and the waist tank will be full.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page