Oct 16, 2016
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
Total Newbie
Hi,

We've been looking at getting our first motorhome for a couple of years now and we're nearly able to do it. However, while we love the mobility it would give us, we also wouldn't want to unhook it from everything to go somewhere for the day, which makes us think of towing a car.

But with 5, possibly 6, in the family (plus 3 dogs that would be with us on UK trips), we need a 'van big enough (no problem!) and we'd need a car big enough as well. Could a 6/7 berth motorhome tow a car big enough for 5/6 people? I'm thinking it would definitely need a braked trailer rather than A frame.

Is this viable or a non-starter? Has anyone else done this?

Many thanks,

Schneckster

OP
OP
S

Schneckster

Free Member
Oct 16, 2016
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
Total Newbie
Thanks for the replies, folks.

The wifey likes motorhomes (as do I!), but I was worried our circumstances might make a caravan better.

We can't afford a new motorhome so any recommendations on the used market that would have up to 3 tonne tow capacity? Or are we better cutting out the hassle and getting a caravan instead?

Thanks again,

Schneckster

Upvote 0

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Hi, it doesnt take that long to have the van ready to drive off a pitch, i'd say it would take us 5 mins max although I'd think with 6 it might take a bit longer but not that long. If your only in the UK and your going somewhere you'll need the car could one of you not drive it there to save the expense of bigger MH and trailer.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
S

Schneckster

Free Member
Oct 16, 2016
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
Total Newbie
Hi Lorger,