Beware of ferry between Barcelona and Genoa! (1 Viewer)

peter dakota

Free Member
Jan 23, 2017
cardiff
Funster No
MH
lo line c class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Landed in Genoa from Barcelona this morning after probably the worst European ferry trip I can remember in 50 years of taking ferries. The check in was very disorganised - took 3 trips from the Mo Ho to the check in desk to obtain boarding cards - no signage or information on arriving at the port. The ferry itself was virtually closed, at least the main lounge and the bar were and the shop remained closed for the majority of the voyage. The staff weren't remotely interested in helping passengers with the exception of one or two. The food and beverages were expensive and in short supply. The blame for the shortages was that the ferry was going for a revamp on completion of the trip. The cabins were clean but spartan (the shower was good though). We docked early but it was over an hour before we were able to disembark. One final moan: the start of the voyage was a little rough and there was vomit on the carpet and top open deck 8 was awash with vomit - I promise I'm not exaggerating. I saw no sign of sick bags available however discreetly they might have been placed. Having said all that, it was a great saving of time and money as you cut out France altogether. Would I do it again? Probably! But next time I'll know what I'm letting myself in for!

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
Nice to see you making your first post(y)
Last year at a Barcelona fire we met a couple who had actually got put on the wrong ferry. They managed to get off but had to have their journey rearranged so can understand the disorganisation.

OP
OP
P

peter dakota

Free Member
Jan 23, 2017
cardiff
Funster No
MH
lo line c class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm not at all surprised. If there had been more than one ferry in port I can almost guarantee we would have been put on the wrong one@