Best Maps for touring Europe ? (1 Viewer)

rolling rolling

Free Member
Apr 15, 2017
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
since 2003
Hi Fellow travellers.

We are off soon on trip around Europe for several months. I have purchased some maps of certain countries we intend to visit but would like a page by page ring binder style map of the whole of Europe.

Three years ago I purchased a Phillips multi scale map of Europe which was Ok then as we ended up only doing 2 countries. Recently we did 2 weeks starting in Italy and driving up through 4 countries and used the same map from 2015 but found little information in it and half the towns missing.

I have looked at the AA and Collins and the Michelin equivalent, seems the AA doesn't get very good reviews .
Could you recommend any of the above or another brand.

Thanks for your input and advise.

Rolling Rolling

Julea & Alan

Monty2

Free Member
Oct 23, 2017
Ferndown, Dorset
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
HI, for years I've travelled round Europe on my motorbike and I always plan routes using Michelin maps - I highly recommend them. I use the National (individual) folded country maps for general outline planning - major routes - (Spain & Portugal No. 734), (France No. 721), (Europe No. 705) etc., etc., and for more detailed planning I use the ring bound maps (France 1:200,000 - 1cm = 2km), (Italy 1:300,000 - 1cm = 3km), and so on. Hope this helps!

Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
Hope you are using a sat nav as well , more time to look out the window instead of head down over a map . Maps are great for planning , or though google earth is taking that over as well. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Monty2

Free Member
Oct 23, 2017
Ferndown, Dorset
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
I use the maps to plan all the routes which are then plotted out on BaseCamp and downloaded onto my Garmin SatNav unit.....

Riverbankannie