Benimar Europe leisure battery not charging (1 Viewer)

ROBROY10

Free Member
Nov 7, 2017
Funster No
Help needed ! My 2001 fiat ducato benimar Europe 6000 st has stopped charging leisure battery when engine is running ! On investigation I have found that if I remove cables from leisure battery and put testing meter on ends with engine is running it shows there is full power being delivered (over 14 volts ) but as soon as I reattach cables to battery there is no charging showing on meter !!! Anyone any idea what would cause this ? Regards Richard

OP
OP
R

ROBROY10

Free Member
Nov 7, 2017
Funster No
With multi meter on live and earth cables ! Also control panel shows no charge when engine is running !

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Vanman

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 12, 2016
Runcorn
Funster No
MH
Roadscout R PVC
Exp
March 2017
I'm no expert but it's hard to imagine it's not just a dead leisure battery.

OP
OP
R

ROBROY10

Free Member
Nov 7, 2017
Funster No
That was my first thought so replaced battery with brand new one but no joy ! Cheers

Vanman

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 12, 2016
Runcorn
Funster No
MH
Roadscout R PVC
Exp
March 2017
It is possible, and sometimes sods law, that you get a dodgy new battery. I'd charge it away from the van on a 'normal' charger and check that it takes and then holds charge.

Even if the batteries were dead though I would still expect to see a charge on the cables, if you got one from them with no battery, less so if you are connecting to the battery terminals.

Unless of course you are connecting to the wrong terminals in which case there could be a safety cut-out!

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
What is the voltage of the battery(ies) when disconnected?
Does the battery get charged on EHU?

OP
OP
R

ROBROY10

Free Member
Nov 7, 2017
Funster No
Yes battery accepts charge on ehu and from solar panel ! Had battery on charge out of vehicle so 82% charged as per control panel cheers

The Nomad

Free Member