BBC HD pixalating

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Nirvanauk, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +11,848
    In the house I have a Sony Bravia TV with freesat built in, coupled to a sky mini dish. It has been working fine for since we bought it 2 years ago but a couple of months ago it started breaking up only on BBC HD. All other channels are fine. I have done a re scan.

    Any ideas please?
     
  2. Ralph-n-Bev

    Ralph-n-Bev Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6,378
    Location:
    Wrenthorpe, Wakefield.
    Ratings:
    +12,215
    Ours does it if its raining really heavy outside.
    We dont have sky , but it is digital.
    It also says No /Bad signal on the screen.
    We just knock it off digital onto normal 1 to 5 channels. Have to watch whatever's on there till the storm subsides :ROFLMAO:
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    I would think the dish needs adjusting slighly, or realigning ..

    do you have a sat finder signal meter ..
     
  4. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +11,848
    Yes, and a satellite compass, but would I set it up for Astra 2? It has never been moved (as far as I can remember) since I dumped Sky about 8 years ago.
    Thanks
     
  5. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Ratings:
    +4,520
    Any heavy rain will reduce the signal. If the signal is not quite spot on then you will experience break up and or total loss of signal.

    Over the years, strong winds, snow, birds landing can cause the dish to move just enough to weaken the signal. Friends of mine had the same problem, losing signal. Amazingly two pigeons had managed to build a nest in the dish resting on the arm for the LNB. The dish was in a corner so well protected for the pigeons.

    Normally somewhere in the menu system of your built in freesat receiver you can find a signal strength indication (maybe in the installation or setup menus) showing your signal strength and quality. If not connect your signal meter then;

    If you slacken the bolts a little on your dish (don't slack them off completely only, just enough so it just moves slightly under pressure) then just adjust the dish in very very small increments allowing several seconds then check your signal strength and quality to see if it has improved. Get someone indoors to shout to you or call you as you adjust the dish each time saying if the signal is "Higher or Lower".......

    You could also check the skew on your lnb to get optimum signal, it will normally have 4 positions (swinging vertically from right to left as you look at it), which it will just click into position with light hand pressure, then check the signal strength.

    Cheers.

    :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  6. aba

    aba Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    if its only the bbc hd channel i wouldnt bother why support the national pedophile coverup channels anyway
     
  7. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    What a stupid comment.....!
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  8. bigmillie

    bigmillie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Camberley Surrey
    Ratings:
    +136
    BBC 1 HD switched to astra 2f on 22-11-12 you might need to adjust your dish
     
  9. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +256
    No it has not.

    BBC HD 1 HD England, BBC1 HD Northern Ireland and BBC HD are still on Astra 1N 10847 V 23000 2/3.

    Two TEST channels, which will eventually become BBC1HD Wales and BBC1 HD Scotland, have moved fom 1N to 2F - 10847 V 23000 2/3.
     
  10. Microchip

    Microchip Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +133
    As it has bee ninstalled for quite a while, I would check first for poor connections on the LNB, if they are corroded there is a possiblity that water has got in and travelled down the cable, that would mean a new cable, if ok then check for alighnment with sat finder.:thumb:

    Keith
     
  11. bigmillie

    bigmillie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Camberley Surrey
    Ratings:
    +136
    I was going by this Astra 2f on "King of Sat"

    BBC 1 HD 11024 H 23000 2/3 8901

    BBC 1 HD 11024 H 23000 2/3 8911

    Started 22/11/1012
     
  12. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +256
    Those are the two that will eventually become BBC1HD Wales and BBC1 HD Scotland. They are currently not available to watch on Sky or Freesat as they have not been launched yet!

    BBC1HD England BBC1HD Northern Ireland and BBC HD that are currently "live" and are still on 1N - as kingofsat also says!

    You should not "need to adjust your dish" too much as 1n and 2f are in the same location!

    However, if it started around September time, this is when the BBC changed their HD transponder settings - from QPSK to 8PSK, and changing the FEC from 8/9 FEC to 2/3.
    This, apparently, makes reception a bit more sensitive, so it may mean your dish is out of alignment, or your lnb needs to be replaced.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page