Battery State Indicator.can You Trust It? (1 Viewer)

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
i recently removed a leisiure battery that was performing well but the little indicator window was black,meaning dead battery!i took it off and put it under a small load for 12hours drawing 1 amp it held up fine losing a miniscule amount of voltage.
What are these little windows and how do they work?

Feb 9, 2008
Corby, Northants
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Since 2007
They are a visual indicator of battery state. To measure battery, best use a volt meter. To test battery, fully charge, remove external power/charging source,allow to settle, put known load on for x number of hours, remove load, allow to settle. measure battery again with Volt meter.

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
hi friar, I think the indicators built into the battery are small hydrometers .. they tell you the state of charge by measuring the specific gravity of the electrolyte and also give an indication of the electrolyte level..
its sometimes possible to top up the battery with a little distilled water if its indicating its low...
I thought dark of black indicated it needs a charge, but not sure...
charge it up and run a good load on it and see how its held a charge... if that proves good recharge and continue to use, or at least I would...
ta andy

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
friar tuck

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Hi Andy thanks for the reply.electrlyte was a little low on all cells so i topped it up i wonder if the hydrometer part had drained? seemed to work ok on a load so its gone back on the mh now and the solar is bringing it back up to full.

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990