Battery Problem (1 Viewer)

Apr 24, 2014
spain
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
i'm a newbie
Please can anyone give any advice we have a 2015 Challenger Sirius The problem we have is that the engine battery looses its charge after about 3. Weeks it has been back to the supplier on numerous occasions they say that they have changed the battery tested the alarm but they say thy cannot find anything faulty any ideas would be welcomed

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
2 to 3 weeks seems to be the norm these days.
Far too many low drain parasitic loads on today's vehicles.
I shut off and lock my car I hear maybe 6 electronic relays switching off in a 5 minute period....it used to be, ignition off, all off.

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Most vehicle batteries are not ofa particularly high capacity. Even a large car may have a battery of 70Ah or less. A drain of 100mA over the 500 hours in 3 weeks will be enough to prevent the vehicle starting.
I leave a 10w solar panel on the roof of my car when I go away, as I have to leave it in the motorhome storage facility. This will produce at best around 500mA of charge so no regulator is needed, but its enough to keep the battery charged most of the year.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

D

DL42846

Deleted User
Did they try running a multy meter to do a battery drain test. My MH sits quiet often for several weeks without any problems. My Defender has sat for up to 8 weeks without any problem also. But that is very basic.

PS, I'm no expert but I have managed to sort out a couple of problems with something like this. Worth a try just for piece of mind.

Glandwr

Banned
Jul 10, 2014
the Berwyn Mountains
Funster No
MH
Hymer S740
Exp
since 2009