Battery Problem, need help ASAP (1 Viewer)

Ian Paul

Free Member
Apr 24, 2018
Funster No
I have just finished my conversion but volt meter gives a reading of 9v if I connect the dometic Fridge, is this normal ? please comment I have made a film to explain...

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Are you running a compressor fridge?

If you have a "normal" gas/mains/12volt fridge, it does take a huge wack of electric on 12 volts... I think around 8 amps +...

I am not an expert by any means, but think the voltage drop is due to this considerable load being taken out of the battery...

JJ :cool:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
Hi.. i suspect its telling you your battery has no capacity...
The voltage you are seeing is the solar panel voltage...
As soon as you load the system with the fridge which is most probably around 120 or more watts the load pulls the battery voltage down and a 100 w panel will not supply that sort of load..
Andy

Pete5996

Free Member
Sep 18, 2016
Deep in the Lot
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Cheyenne
Exp
Since 2002
Forgive me for mentioning it but starting three threads simultaneously on the same question can only lead to repetition and confusion...:)

As JJ says, if it's a standard 3-way fridge, running it on 12V from a battery doesn't work - the 12V operation is designed to be used from the vehicle alternator when the engine is running.

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
Your solar is being used to run fridge but no enough capacity therefore draining your battery as well(y)

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
As JJ says, if it's a standard 3-way fridge, running it on 12V from a battery doesn't work - the 12V operation is designed to be used from the vehicle alternator when the engine is running