Battery Master not working? (1 Viewer)

Apr 29, 2009
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Burstner Nexxo T740
Exp
since 2008
Motorhome has been parked up since 20th Oct with the Alarm on. Went to start it this morning and the battery was flat. I plugged into EHU for a couple or three hours and it starts ok.
I have a battery master fiitted which I thought would utilise the 2 x Leisure Batteries to start the Engine if the Engine Battery couldnt, but this didnt appear to happen - even with the Leisure Batteries showing 14 volts on hook up the Engine wouldnt start until I left if on hook up for a while. The leisure battery voltmeter didnt flicker when I tried to start the engine.
Any ideas how I can check/test or am I mistaken as to what the Battery Master does?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
leisure battery cannot be used to start the engine.....it doesnt have the required wiring size or suitable relay.

battery master is to link the hab and starter batteries for charging purposes only....ie: relatively low current, not the 400 or so amps needed for starting.

many American RVs have the ability to do this, but the hab and starter batteries are connected with starter motor sized cables and a 400amp relay

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Mr Colpot
Apr 29, 2009
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Burstner Nexxo T740
Exp
since 2008
Thanks for the replies - posted before I read the instructions - we have a solar panel but I guess we havent had the sun for the last 3 weeks and now the alarm is working properly and flashing the leds front/back/inside 24/7 maybe the drain is significant.
Will keep on EHU although we usually use it most weekends it was just I was hospitalised and recuperating so pride and joy didnt get the usual attention.

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010