Baffled.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Daveo2006, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +996
    Not sure anyone can answer this one but all suggestions welcome.I keep a digital radio in the MH and on some sites had a problem with reception so i ran a cable from the Tv booster ( which has a receptacle for radio).Great ,fantastic i have reception and all channels.However something i noticed at the weekend was that if the radio is on and i turn on the habitation light near the door i lose reception.The radio is still powered (230v) and display is still visible but no radio.The light switch is a double which serves the light above the habitation door and the main lights in the van.The other switch for the main lights doesn't affect it at all and neither do the led's.Acts well as a mute button but really dont need it.Any ideas ? cheers Dave.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,241
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,513
    could be the lighting wiring, when powered up, is causing RFI which is shielding the signal....or the TV booster is tapped into that lighting circuit before the light switch.

    just guessing really.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +996
    I did think that it was probably a live feed taken off the lighting circuit.Its not really a problem as when the missus puts the radio on she normally lowers the light too for a bit of ambience. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,617
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,209
    I have seen reports of some LED modules chucking out a load of interference.

    If he has fitted LEDs he can revert to the old bulbs and see if the problem goes away and if so try different LEDs.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  5. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +996
    The led's are all switched individually on the units and dont affect the radio at all.Its just the one light switch which operates the light above the habitation door.
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,677
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,338
    my guess and its only that is that the 12v feed to the amp is taken from the light circuit. switching on the light puts a resistive load on it dropping the voltage. in turn this drop causes the radio frequencies from the amp to drop. if its an issue try feeding a new power source to the amp
     
    • Like it Like it x 1

Share This Page