Awnings..Untethered..left out overnight..do you ??? (1 Viewer)

Do you leave your awning out overnight or when leaving van for the day.

• Untethered

Votes: 5 1.9%
  • Without Sides

Votes: 14 5.2%
  • Always tethered

Votes: 88 32.8%
  • Always with sides

Votes: 5 1.9%
  • Always wind it in

Votes: 185 69.0%

• Total voters
Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
Two threads tonight with tales of damaged awnings and fixings.
Do you leave your awning out when not tethered and without enclosed sides bearing in mind the weather is so unpredictable.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Looking forward to all the opinions on this as I was considering what to do next time we are away.
Haven't used the awning yet and dont have sides for it either.

makems

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 23, 2011
Ingleby Barwick,,Teesside
Funster No
MH
Sadly had to give up
Exp
2010-2017
Always well tethered with five ratchet straps when rolled out. Normally put it away at night, the only exceptions being when the wind has got up suddenly and it is too dangerous to release thestraps to,put it away.
I have had a few bad night sleeps when that happens but fortunately no damage.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I would choose the option "It depends" if there was one. :) This is because it depends entirely on what I think the weather might do. If there is even a remote chance of high winds then it gets wound in. The rest of the time I generally tie it down unless I'm really sure the weather is settled but will still wind it in if the wind picks up.

Last edited:
Jun 30, 2011
Barnard Castle, UK
Funster No
MH
Concorde Concerto
Exp
Since 2007
No, definitely not.

Someone might breathe in as they pass by the van and the tissue paper, sorry awning will come tumbling down.

OP
OP
Larrynwin
Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH