Australia and NZ (1 Viewer)

May 16, 2015
Reading
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 125
Exp
Since 2015
Has anyone ever looked into cost of taking a Motorhome over to Australia and or NZ to do some touring?
It’s something that’s crossed my mind but I have no idea of the cost or possibilities of doing it?
Be really interested in your replies.

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
For comparison I’d get some rental prices too.
Our 2nd motorhome trip was a three week tour of the north island in a local rental. We loved it but it was mid 2005 so my pricing would be less useful. 🤷‍♂️

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
In addition to the actual cost of transporting the van, one has to add an
amount to cover the deep cleaning necessary to cover the whole of the van,
inside and outside, (including underneath and wheel arches)

Having done that, the van would have to be low loaded to the port because they would
find enough UK muck to charge you another arm and leg when it gets there.

Also bear in mind that OZ for certain has strict rules regarding how long one can stay as a tourist.

Jan 26, 2017
Mid Suffolk.
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Inca
Exp
Eight Years and 28,000 Miles.
We had plans to spend February next year touriing NZ, North and South in a rented motorhome.

Cost was £7000+. Including flights.

Aug 13, 2017
Funster No
Has anyone ever looked into cost of taking a Motorhome over to Australia and or NZ to do some touring?
It’s something that’s crossed my mind but I have no idea of the cost or possibilities of doing it?
Be really interested in your replies.
Contact these for shipping costs https://www.seabridge-tours.de/en/home/
Look into issues re cleanliness of the MH for landing in Oz ( don't know about NZ)
6 month allowed in both I believe before due import tax etc and same with visitors visa's though later may be extendable.