are microwaves ok in campervan

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by enuf, Mar 6, 2015.

  1. enuf

    enuf

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +0
    will a small microwave work ok on hook up?? or will it blow the elecs?
    sorry for very basic question so excuse my ignorance thanks
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    yes, ok
     
  3. Terran

    Terran Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +129
    We use an 800w microwave on hook up, bearing in mind the fridge, the battery chargers, etc, all add up its best to switch your hot water boiler off while using your microwave else you could easily exceed 16AMP (y) Cheers. Terran
     
  4. Granjan

    Granjan Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +14,397
    Ours works great ... we buy steam bags for veggies they cook really quickly and you don't need to take as many pans.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  5. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,106
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,029
    Main issue will be when abroad and if they state a 6amp supply.
    That's running a bit close, however run the micro at a lower power and should be ok...
    Ensure that it's fastened down as well !! Imagine having a crash and something that heavy flying out a cupboard onto your head .!!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    as Terran mentioned.. be aware of what other kit is also on, including appliances you may have in the van.. eg.. electric kettle, toaster etc..

    you can check the data label of appliances for Wattage ..
    on a 16A EHU you have 3,680 watts to play with..
    on a 10 amp supply= 2,300 watts,
    and 6 amp = 1,380 watts

    another idea.. I posted this ages ago.. buy one of these... and never trip the site CB again..

    Owl Wireless Monitor.. it measures everything that is using amps , charger, fridge etc. easy to fit a, it has a small clamp that is placed around either brown or blue (makes no odds) incoming supply at the mains box.. You can set the alarm to whatever level you want.. for example on a 16amp EHU = 3,680 watts I set mine to alarm at 3,000 watt ..

    this image shows cost.. it can be set to show amps

    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Owl-Connect...401554942&sr=8-1&keywords=owl+wireless+energy
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  7. big bertha

    big bertha Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +8,689
    Think our microwave is only 500w mostly used for veg, we just have to cook longer.(y)
     
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,181
    500w is the output. There will be a rating plate on the back which will tell you the wattage that it uses. 500w output will probably be about 1100 w consumption, but bear in mind that there could be a surge on starting. Using a lower power setting will not help as all that then happens is that the microwave switches on and off to acheive the lower rate of heating eg 50% will be on half the time. Because of the switching there will be more surges so may be more likely to trip the ehu.

    If the ehu is only 6a then you probably won't be able to use it. I have seen some in France that are only 4a.

    What I do is run the microwave from the inverter even if on ehu, the batteries can then recharge in their own time without overloading the ehu. Works on solar too.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Terran

    Terran Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +129
    Out of interest what size inverter do you use?
     
  10. big bertha

    big bertha Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +8,689
    Thanks reallyretired but I'm totally confused now:D but do use it but not often and haven't tripped leccy yet and no plans for France.(y)
     
  11. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9,033
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +12,920
    A standard micro wave will take about twice the rate current on start up, a better quality inverter type microwave about one & third times the output current.
    Also 3 amp hook ups are quite common in Italy.
     
  12. angusboy

    angusboy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    somerset
    Ratings:
    +618
    had one in my van no problem use sensible
     
  13. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7,214
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +17,493
    We have one on the house supply so I know when the solar panels are working and if I am importing or exporting electric - that way I can run the domestic appliances at least cost :)
     
  14. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6,979
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Ratings:
    +10,050
    We run microwave of 2kw pure sine inverter.
     
Loading...

Share This Page