Archos A40 titanium smart phone

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Heyupluv, Dec 14, 2013.

  1. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Does anybody have this Archos A40 titanium phone..If yes and what is there opinions on it...can it be tethered to a laptop...can it wifi an internet connection to a none sim card android tablet
     
  2. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Or do any of the smart phone wizards on fun have any opinions on this phone....I am not wanting a fast or all singing and dancing smart 4g phone that most of the items on them I would not use....I wanting it mainly for simply texing, emails and going on the internet...as we do not use the m/phone very oftem
     
  3. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,067
    I don't think that this is a model generally offered in the uk so you may not get many user experiences.

    From the spec http://www.phonearena.com/phones/ARCHOS-45-Titanium_id8180 it appears that it do what you want. It say that it has wifi hotspot capability so you can use it to connect other devices to the internet.

    Lunarman
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +2,827
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,137
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +21,074
    If you buy it on line you can always return it if it doesn't do what you want. It doesn't have to be faulty, but you will probably have to pay the return postage.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,548
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,900
    Not a wizard but I've seen a few. An Android phone is an Android phone. They might vary in size and some may be more plasticy than others but basically they all do the same.

    Size is the big consideration. Too small and the keyboard is too small. Too big, is that possible, and it might not fit your pocket.

    Archos has been around a long time, not a rubbish brand though I've not seen one of their phones. I have a quite old Archos MP3 player, it's beautifully made.

    There seem to be 4 sizes of Archos phone. I'd go for the biggest. It has GPS so can double as a SatNav, so the bigger the better.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Yes it is a French company Archos..which is where we live, And where we will be buying the phone from...But I think they have a similar model in the UK..
    Thank you for reply Lunarman:thumb:
     
  8. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Thanks Brian for your reply...this is the info link...
    http://www.darty.com/nav/achat/gps_...ephone_portable/archos_a40_titanium_noir.html

    I take your point Brian..BUT I already have three TomTom sat navs ..the Caravan tomtom 1005...and the tomtom 1000 and the and the tomtom go ...all very good, excellent sat navs..so I better not get another... or the wife would go scatty
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  9. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Not the same in France.......but it does have a 2 year warranty...thank you for your reply
     
  10. JohnH

    JohnH Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +1,037
    Hi Mel,
    I read the spec and it is very similar to my Galaxy III. I swapped from an iPhone and the quality is great. Archos are a very well established brand name. Go for it.
    John
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,242
    Are you sure? I thought the distance selling regulations were brought in as a result of an EU Regulation.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    IT may be correct about sending back items purchased on the internet...BUT!!!! you try it in France:Doh:....they do everything different they do not follow what EU Regulations you Quote:RollEyes::winky::winky:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. beachcaster

    beachcaster Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    east sussex
    Ratings:
    +3,178
    Have a look at the Motorola Moto G............look for some reviews then get one from tesco ( £99) when they have them back in stock they are selling out like hot cakes.... Costs even less if you have any tesco vouchers to redeem.........got one recently and its fantastic value.

    barry
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Hi John after posting on Fun... I have looked at a lot of feed back and it does seem to be a good phone with many good feedback in France...
    Thanks John for your reply speak soon....Mel :thumb:
     
  15. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Barry i agree ...but we don't have a Tesco in France:Doh:..it would cost toooo much to come over... but thank you:thumb:
     
  16. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584
    Brian ...I have just be looking at the spec...and it says it has GPS...(GPS • Yes with A-GPS )
     
Loading...

Share This Page