Anyone got a Sterling Battery to Battery charger? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Hi all. Again I'm after a bit of clarification.

I've got the b2b all wired up and connected. When I just started the van the the charging status lights moved from fast, through to absorption and then to conditioning, where it stayed while I had the van engine running. So I think it is successfully charging the leisure batteries.

Firstly, when the van engine is on light 7 is illuminated, which denoted a 13.8v input voltage. For output voltage two lights are showing these are 19 and 20 (19 = 14.2v and light 20 = 13.8v). Does this sound right, and is this what you see on yours?

Secondly I read something about having to set up / program the machine for certain batteries but found this confusing. Is this based on the type of leisure battery or starter battery? I'm using two 110ah sealed calcium batteries as leisure batteries. (These: https://tinyurl.com/y745gmse) I am unsure what the type the starter battery is, but I've taken a photo below. Does the b2b need programming for these batteries?

Cheers.

Jack.

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
9236EBEB-BC0A-40F9-9EFA-FE132C1F50D2.jpeg

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
It has to be set up for the type of leisure battery, the type of vehicle battery makes no difference. From memory, the Sterling B2Bs are set up for standard lead acid batteries, mine was. I'm not familiar with calcium batteries but I suspect they may be fine with the standard default profile. Are they listed in the instructions as having their own profile, as for example gel and lithium batteries do? If not then I think you can leave things as they were, assuming the B2B was bought new. You could email Sterling to be sure.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon