Anyone else have an Orange Livebox?

L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
The Inventel wireless widget on my lappy has suddenly decided it doesn't want to talk to the livebox any more so I am down to one computer with internet access......its causing mayhem as the kids can't get on their favourite sites unless I vacate my seat at the PC (which I daren't as I'll never get it back :Doh: )

I spent half an hour on the phone last night to the Orange "helpdesk" in Bangladesh - fat lot of good that did......it still ain't working and I have gone through their website and tried all sorts but to no avail :helpsos:
I have even tried reloading the cd and that won't work either......I get as far as the first screen, click proceed and it freezes :shout:

Any ideas? :Blush:
 

pudseykeith

Free Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
382
Location
Leeds West Riding of York
MH
A Class
Exp
6 Years
Hi Lindy
Disconnect the live box from the mains. Reconnect and let it sort its self out . This will take a few mins. [ till the red lights return to how they were originally].

If this do's not work. press the number 1 button for about 15 seconds.
Hope it works.
Pudseykeith
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Hi Keith

Thanks for the reply......

Well I tried all of that but no joy. The main PC which is wired through the Livebox is fine but the lappy still won't play ball.
When I click on the Inventel status it tells me there is limited or no connectivity :shout:
I click on Repair Inventel and get:
Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed:
Renewing the IP address

Interestingly enough, I ran a full scan the night before this thing took a dump and found no end of horrors in the HKLM which I moved to the virus vault.....trojans, tracking cookies and all sorts of adware - when I tried to fire it up the next morning is when the problems started.

It did come back up momentarily when I was fiddling with it this afternoon but as soon as I re-booted it died again.

I did get a warning window
C:\windows\system32\PCANDIS5.SYS
Trojan horse generic 10.ASPV
detected on open

so I clicked "heal"

Still nuffink! :tears:
 

Phil

Free Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
226
Location
Herts
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
10 years
You could try going back to a Restore point at a date or time when everything was working. You could also try reinstalling any software for the 'widget', look to see if there is an update for it first.

Phil.
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Thanks Phil...............ummmmmm...how do I do that? :Blush:

I tried re-installing the software but the disc won't run properly.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pudseykeith

Free Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
382
Location
Leeds West Riding of York
MH
A Class
Exp
6 Years
Hi Keith

Thanks for the reply......

Well I tried all of that but no joy. The main PC which is wired through the Livebox is fine but the lappy still won't play ball.
When I click on the Inventel status it tells me there is limited or no connectivity :shout:
I click on Repair Inventel and get:
Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed:
Renewing the IP address

Interestingly enough, I ran a full scan the night before this thing took a dump and found no end of horrors in the HKLM which I moved to the virus vault.....trojans, tracking cookies and all sorts of adware - when I tried to fire it up the next morning is when the problems started.

It did come back up momentarily when I was fiddling with it this afternoon but as soon as I re-booted it died again.

I did get a warning window
C:\windows\system32\PCANDIS5.SYS
Trojan horse generic 10.ASPV
detected on open

so I clicked "heal"

Still nuffink! :tears:
Hi Lindy

Is your orange acc. for unrestricted down load ? Orange have become padantic lately about weather acc's are restricted or unrestricted .
But sorry I have exhausted my very limited knowledge on the subject.
Being a mech. engineer, unless something is revolving or moving from side to side or going up and down my ability is somewhat limited. :Sad:
Best wishes with the problem. :thumb:
Pudseykeith
PS Just a thought, is your laptop switched on to wireless connection
 
Last edited:
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
I have no idea Keith, and I would reckon my knowledge is far more limited than yours :roflmto:

Your ideas are very much appreciated :Smile:

I feell another lengthy call to Bangladesh coming on! :Doh:
 
OP
K

Kevit

Deleted User
Lindy, on WinXP, to restore your system to when it was all working do the following.

Click on start/all programs/accessories/system tools/system restore.

This will run a wizard. select "restore my pc to a previous..."

Choose a date in bold type that is before your problem started. Then select the restore my PC option.

Hope this sorts your problem.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
1,390
Location
West of Southampton edge
MH
A Class RV
Exp
12
Hi Linda

To restore to a previous date click start then - help and support then -under pick a task you will see undo changes to your computer with System Restore, this will enable you to restore your settings to a prevoius date!

Best of luck

Regards Pat
 
Last edited:
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Thanks guys..........just tried that and got the following message.....

Your computer cannot be restored to
25 June 2008
System Checkpoint

No changes have been made to your computer

Could someone pass the valium and the gin bottle please? :shout: :shout: :shout:
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Tried several dates Pat.......all with the same response :cry:

Slowly losing the will to live! :Doh:
 

RichardnGill

Free Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
198
Location
Durham
MH
C Class
Exp
3
Can you borrow a lappy from a freind, this should confirm if it is the live box or your lappy which will help you solve the problem. Or even borrow a usb wifi stick to use on your PC.


Richard...
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Hi Richard

Thanks for the reply

Another lappy isn't an option and I have another wifi widget but I need the Orange disc to work in order to pair it with the livebox (so I am led to believe from the Orange help pages) and the disc won't run properly.

The lappy has its own built in wifi and that won't connect either

I am currently trying a system restore in safe mode, as suggested on a few internet forums.......it now seems to be stuck (or exceedingly slow)......watch this space :shout:
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Nope..........system restore in safe mode didn't work either :Doh:

Anybody got a large club hammer? :cry:
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Thanks Pat - I knew I could rely on you to come up with the right solution! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
 

RichardnGill

Free Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
198
Location
Durham
MH
C Class
Exp
3
Just thought we use to have Orange Broad band and got ride because is was forver going off line and was usless in our area.

We now have the freeby from SKY which includes a netgear router. If you already have Sky it might be worth phoning them to get one or if not it only cost £17 per month for SKY and the Broad band deal.

Richard...
 
OP
L

Lindy-C

Deleted User
Thanks for that Richard......I will change my ISP as an absolute last resort....
It will be the mother of all hassles as I have had this same email addy for the last 10 years or more :Sad:
 
OP
S

stubon

Deleted User
livebox

Hi Lindy c
on your desktop icons can you get access to configure your live box if you can let me know
stubon
 
SMC Motorhomes Newark
RoadPro
Johns Cross
Safeguard Motorhome Insurance
Rhino Installs
Friendly professional service from qualified technicians
Free Club Stickers
Dave Newell Leisure Vehicle Services
Top