Another Vehicle Battery Problem (1 Viewer)

treasuredgiftsuk

Free Member
Jan 7, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Took our Fiat Ducato Toskana 1985 for a full service and it had to be jumped off. Battery turned engine but it would not start before battery ran out of steam.
During the service the guy said he would flush out the engine as the starting problem plus a lot of smoke coming from the exhaust could be because it had been stood a while and could be clogged up.
Brought it home and found it had a leak underneath, not present before the service. Tried to start it to take back to garage same problem battery turned engine of a short time but it would not start before battery became flat.
Mechanic said it needed new fuel injectors as air was getting into the engine and could be causing the starting problem and also the radiator needed replacing. He checked the battery and said it was ok.
Had this done brought it home and the next day it would not start yet again.
€800 further on and still problems.
Jumped it off and took it back to the garage. The guy rang this morning and said he had tried to start it with a replacement battery but still the same problem. He said the battery was a 70amp and he said he is going to try a 90amp to see if it will give the engine a bit longer boost. He is going to put the battery on today and leave it overnight and then try in the morning when it is very cold.

My question is: Has anyone else ever had this particular problem with a starter batter and if so how was the problem solved? Any suggestions would be appreciated as I am now getting towards the end of my tether.

We have only had this motor home a few weeks and never been able to go anywhere in it yet.

ps when the engine is warm after driving around 10km to the garage it starts perfectly well. :Angry:

OP
OP
treasuredgiftsuk

treasuredgiftsuk

Free Member
Jan 7, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie