.... Another self-build van wiring quandary... (1 Viewer)

Samwise-100

Free Member
Feb 24, 2021
Barnsley, UK
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Hi everyone!

I've just bought a van to convert and it came with quite a lot equipment which i plan to use in my camper (previous owner had intention of converting and made a bit of a start, but i'm starting again).

I'm currently studying the electric system and have found loads of information all over the internet, lots of people asking 'similar' questions to me. I'm working on a wiring diagram based on the info i've gathered so far. However, would just like a bit of advice or feedback from any of you more knowledgeable folk to let me know whether i'm on the right lines.

Attached (or below) is my first draught sketch, and to follow is a summary of what i have so far, along with a couple of questions:

• Firstly, i have 2 x 100AH or 110AH (identical but i can't quite recall what capacity they are) leisure batteries, which i plan to link in parallel, so i understand this is simply 1+ to 2+, and 1- to 2-, my question is, does it matter whether run battery 1- to earth, as shown, or should it be 2-, or doesn't it matter?
  • I plan on using a VSR split charge relay to charge my leisure batteries, linked from van+ to leisure 1+, with a link to earth, as shown.
  • I also have 1 x 250w solar panel running through a 20amp 'dual' battery controller, with outputs for 2 x batteries. Question is, would i benefit from linking the controller to both my leisure batteries? Or should i just run in to my primary leisure 1 battery as i've shown? I assume that there would be no point running the second output to the van battery as this is charged off the alternator? Please advise.
  • Would this setup mean the leisure batteries would be charged by BOTH the alternator/van battery AND the solar panel, simultaneously? Is this ok?