Free Member
Aug 21, 2016
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato / Bessacarr
Exp
Something of a newbie
Hi. I'm fairly new to motorhoming having started 3 years ago with (don't laugh) a Mazda Bongo. I bought it with sink and cooker installed, but after one outing decided to totally refit with 3ft rock-and-roll bed and some storage space as well as the sink/cooker unit. Once finished I was quite proud of it and went out a fair bit for weekends. However, I soon realised the limitations of a converted people-carrier when I travelled to Yorkshire with my son for a week's birding and photography. While the smaller size is useful on narrow country lanes, it was soon apparent that there was not enough space, and we had to keep moving everything every time we parked up. On our return I sold the Mazda and bought a used Ace Modena on Fiat chassis. With a fixed double bed, and me being past retirement age, this suited me perfectly. It meant that I could drive till I was tired, then park up, walk to the back and crash out!! Once again, my son and I went north to Yorkshire this June and I also towed my little Fiat 500 on a trailer so that we could get around easier. All was great........ until the return!!
After dropping my son off in North wales I was travelling back along the M5 when disaster struck near Tewkesbury. An explosion, steering wandering a bit, and no brakes!! Luckily I wasn't going too fast as I was towing and was in the nearside lane. Once on the hard shoulder I checked the problem. Easily found ---- no nearside rear wheel!! That had disappeared down the embankment somewhere.