Aug 7, 2019
Worcester (UK)
Funster No
MH
Autograph 794-T
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,
Just a few words from us to introduce ourselves - be rude not to. We're from Worcester (UK) andcompletely new to MH'ing. However we have 15 yrs of touring caravaning experience both in the UK and France but that was 20 yrs ago. Now the children (34, 32 and 25) have flown the nest and we're semi-retred its time for a new adventure.
We're looking forward to collecting our 67 reg Bailey Autograph 79-4T on 2nd Sept and have secured a pitch on an amazing local site that we can use all year round.
Now the plan was to get used to, and bond with our new baby by using it in the UK to get used to all the basics gradually - ie driving it, setting up and understanding all the systems etc etc. However our daughter is on her way back to the UK from a 3 month Euro road trip in her van and wants us to meet up with her in our new van in mid Sept in Southern Belgium. When we told her that we'd be popping over to meet up with her in our car she wasn't best pleased so we caved in and agreed to take the van over to meet her after only 2 weeks of ownership!!!! This was not in the plan!! But hey whats the worst that can happen and I enjoy learning curves like the north face of the Eiger!!
So, although I'm sure there are sections of the forum for these questions can I ask..........
1) Can anyone recommend any must see towns in Southern Belgium as a lot of the places I've researched / googled look a little uninspiring. However we have identified Durbury / Namur / Mons / Dinant and Ypres as places we'd like to visit and they form a nice route back to Calais.
2) I've been quoted £402 (return) on the channel tunnel which is enough for a 6 day break so apart from playing with the times / dates to reduce the cost is there a way of significantly reducing the cost of getting to Calais as I'm sure most of you guys dont pay those prices??