Another driving advice question (1 Viewer)

Wizbangs

Free Member
Nov 8, 2011
MK, UK
Funster No
MH
AS Burford Duo
Exp
Four years
I'm a competent driver in a car with 70,000 miles a year not unusual. However I am struggling in the MH with pulling out into the middle lane on motorways. I seem to get stuck behind slow traffic, with other vehicles streaming by and no space for me to pull out to overtake. This also really worries me with large slow vehicles coming on from slip roads, if I have nowhere to go. :Eeek: I try to see how the lorries do it, but hey, who is going to argue with a lorry.

Mary

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
If there is a good safe gap, pull out and overtake.

If not, just ease the pedal, go with the flow, even if it's a slow flow, chill and think of where you want to take the next pit stop...

It's just Fun, so no hurry, relax and enjoy...............:thumb::thumb:

::bigsmile:

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
pay and have a day with a hgv instructor in your vehicle .
i think every m,homer should go on a driving course .
its not quite like driving a car .
look local there will be one close by .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

camocam1

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Elgin,Moray,Scotland
Funster No
MH
bailey approach 760 se
Exp
since 2012
I also do large milage in the car and have no problem on motorways but also find it difficult in the MH but do find that it is a different mind set in a MH so take your time and get wherever you are going safely

Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
You need to plan further ahead, don't wait until you close on the vehicle ahead, look for the gap and move out well in advance.
I drive an RV which is not as quick off the mark as a eurovan and rarely have a problem :thumb:

Jul 29, 2011
Urmston, Manchester
Funster No
MH