An electric bike question (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
My 61 year old sister is struggling badly cycling to work. Her knees are shot and its getting very hard for her. She was looking at getting a wee car but the running costs are beyond what she can afford.

So I suggested and electric bike.

Here requirements are two journeys to work and back each day. so for trips at about for miles each day so say 16 miles daily. Her route takes her up hill on the way so its roughly 8 miles of her commute up hill and 8 down hill.

This is every day 5 days a week so a bike if suitable needs to be able to cope with what to me is quite a lot of use. Sister is ... Well not of slight build either :)

So will one of these electric bikes do the job ? If so which one is best and where would be a good place to buy from hopefully with decent back up ?

Remember this is a bike for a twice daily commute not for just a few miles each holiday so it would have to be man enough for the job .

Many thanks ! (y)(y)

Nov 2, 2008
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
PVC, S&L Iveco
Exp
45 years
Have a Google for Woosh Cycles, they have been around a long time and have lots of practical information on their site. All electric bikes are electric assist, they are not like a moped. We have two of their bikes and did over 1000 miles on mine the first year. Bear in mind that with the change in legislation bikes sold after January 2016 must be peddled all the time.

Southdowners

Free Member
May 7, 2015
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Concorde Charisma
Exp
Since May 2015
There's lots on the market. We have Kalkhoff ones. I have this one. http://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/sahel-compact-i8/

I'm a similar age to your sister and find it really easy to ride and comfortable - hills are a doddle, even really steep ones.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Judge Mental

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 2, 2009