american Winnguard TV Ariels?

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Dodgey, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Five Roads Alyth
    Ratings:
    +284
    Rumor is there, er not very good?

    Why? Solutions, other than replace/drill another hole in the roof?

    Si.
     
  2. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +12,988
    They are as near pufic as you can get if powered up correctly, some have mast head failure and folk think its a crappy arial, when working there 100% including Digital:thumb:
    Geo
     
  3. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +122
    Really?:Smile: We had a 12volt booster fitted to both of our RV's. It was the only way you could get a watchable ( I wouldn't say decent) picture?
    As it happens, we've gone down the sat' route. Haven't watched the "big 5" for years now.:Smile:
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,250
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +33,546
    Hi .. never used it myself preferring sat tv ..

    but it can be used as mast for a sat dish .. :Cool:

    it's the same mechanism as used by Camos for their crank up..
     
  5. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +122
    Really!!!!!:Cool: You do surprise me!::bigsmile::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,250
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +33,546
    credit where it's due matey .. it was you who first tried it .. if you had told me a couple of years back I could have saved £350 .. :roflmto::roflmto:
     
  7. madbluemad

    madbluemad Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    spain
    Ratings:
    +244
    I coudnt get anything that was watchable on mine. Ive ditched it and fitted a cranky. I used the same hole that was there for the winegaurd.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  8. peaps

    peaps Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    SWINDON
    Ratings:
    +27
    never had any problems with mine as Geo says once set brilliant on analogue or digital.

    Pete
     
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +12,988
    As Tony Santara will confirm if he sees this post despite being powered the aerial was as good as a piece of damp string, mast head Failure was diagnosed, (A Guess)
    New head and BINGO 100 + free view Chanel's :thumb:
     
  10. ehuplad

    ehuplad

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +93
    never had a problem with it digital or anolgue most of the time i do not even have to move it we get a good signal with it layed on the roof.
     
  11. Tony Santara

    Tony Santara

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Cheshire (ex Mancunian)
    Ratings:
    +140
    Yep I can confirm what Geo says...... couldn't get tap all on mine untill I changed the head, now got a picture to be proud of. :thumb:
     
  12. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Ratings:
    +70
    Hi no complaints here either great picture and even digital in some areas after a little adjusting (rotation and elevation):thumb: possibly a silly question but you have switched on the signal boost?

    [​IMG]

    Here is ours working fine in Swanage

    [​IMG]

    Regards Pat
     
  13. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Five Roads Alyth
    Ratings:
    +284
    Thanks all, haven't tried it yet, just wanted to get a feel for opinion having picked up on some negative waves :ROFLMAO: :Eeek:about them.

    ruffingitsmoothly, cheers, that saves me looking in the manual, or missing the obvious.

    The connector looked to be a screw, rather than the usual push on, is it anything fancy or readily available?

    Si.
     
  14. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Ratings:
    +70
    Hi Dodgey

    These are readily available as used on a Sky box you can also get adaptors to convert from push on to screw on like this one.

    [​IMG]

    I'm sure that Maplins have them.

    Regards Pat
     
  15. des

    des

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    south staffs
    Ratings:
    +0
    currently in katwijk, netherlands. bbc reception on winguard rubbish. itv no better. should i scrap it? good news, though, free wifi. why don't we ever get that in uk????

    des
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice