Amazon Firestick 4K reduced AGAIN 🤪 (1 Viewer)

OP
OP
kevenh

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
FWIW all Firesticks are reduced.
e.g. FS 4K Max is £39.99 (saving £15) but, imo, the regular 4K stick above is the entry point.
The Max has a little more umph and WiFi-6 but it’ll be hard to see the cost benefit unless you already have WiFi-6

OP
OP
kevenh

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
I never even knew Wifi had a number.
I knew that there had been technological steps but also hadn't heard of there being a wifi-x numbering system until #6.

Looks like they forgot to name Wifi-1/2/3 and started at #4.
Then retrospectively names Wifi-1/2/3 🤔

Highish overview source: https://www.which.co.uk/reviews/wi-fi-routers-and-extenders/article/what-is-wi-fi-6-agTTG2Y9Jeni
Bit geekier (imo) source: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/gaming/resources/wifi-6.html
Hmm! Top depth geekiness (& where Wifi-1, etc. are finally named): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi

tl;dr Wifi-6 is the current bees' knees for performance.

OP
OP
kevenh

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Me either, what does Wi-Fi 6 do that 5 doesn’t?
It has a higher Maximum Linkrate :dance2:

I read that at the Intel link :eek:

Edit: oops let’s add a word so sense it makes

Last edited:
Sep 9, 2019
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Apache
Exp
3 years previously and now returning with new MH
I use a firestick on the C&CC sites and with their free wifi it's brilliant for accessing netflix, apple+ et al.

AndyPK

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 7, 2015
Cirencester
Funster No
MH
None……..!
Exp
Motorhoming since 2015......
I knew that there had been technological steps but also hadn't heard of there being a wifi-x numbering system until #6.

Looks like they forgot to name Wifi-1/2/3 and started at #4.
Then retrospectively names Wifi-1/2/3 🤔