Am I Expecting Too Much From My Solar Panels (1 Viewer)

Alesupper

Free Member
Dec 15, 2020
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 600 SP
Hi

I have just had solar panels fitted to our campervan so I have no experience with them and what to expect from them. After one night away in the van the battery was down to about 12.2v which I felt was fair enough. The following day was overcast and grey with no sunshine and I parked the van up for 8 hours whilst I did a long bike ride. When I returned the battery was at 12.7v but I was hoping that it would be fully charged (i.e. 13.5v). Should 2x120w solar panels be able to fully charge a 100Ah leisure battery in these conditions in 8 hours or am I expecting too much?

My other concern is that our leisure battery might be past its best. It is 3 years old. By the second night it was too low for our Avtex TV to operate more than 20 minutes and we hadn't used much electricity at all. Would a duff battery recharge slower than a battery in good condition?

Apologies for the numpty questions.

TIA

Aug 12, 2021
Nantwitch Cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Flair
Exp
25years
My battery’s are nearly 20years old I have 4 100 amp 3 100watt solar panels perhaps your battery isn’t good I would have it checked , then by the best battery you can justify, if your solar panels and regulator are questionable You can have them checked for output . I had mine checked by Chase RV , Garry is very good.. hope this helps.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Tombola

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 21, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8094DF
Exp
Since 2004
Are the batteries lead acid? if so you only have 50% useable, then you can work out what you use . Was your fridge on etc...fridges consume lots and would swallow that 50a in very short time, even 3-4 hours..
lithium would get you 80-90%

You really need an mppt charge controller to get the most from your panels.