Am I crazy to do this this?... (1 Viewer)

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH
Swift Bessacarr 596
Exp
I'm new to this
I've been planning a retirement tour of the UK and Europe in a motorhome with my dog for a while. After the C19 lockdown everything was put on ice but I have now decided to go ahead and travel as I fear this state of ongoing 'lockdown-anxiety' may go on for months or even years.

I take comfort from hearing about the many people already full timing in the UK but I'd welcome people's views: am I crazy to do this now, would any of the full-timers have preferred home through the pandemic?

I'm open to all comments, suggestions, advice and even a little ridicule!

In a Pickle

Free Member
Oct 9, 2019
Murcia, Spain
Funster No
MH
Knaus Boxlife LHD
Exp
Since 2001
Please keep in mind that the U.K. government is still advising all but essential travel and travel insurance may be invalidated, I also read last week that according to the Foreign and Commonwealth office the European health card will not cover you. Perhaps worth checking up on this situation again for peace of mind.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
JC2001

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH
Swift Bessacarr 596
Exp
I'm new to this
Please keep in mind that the U.K. government is still advising all but essential travel and travel insurance may be invalidated, I also read last week that according to the Foreign and Commonwealth office the European health card will not cover you. Perhaps worth checking up on this situation again for peace of mind.

Thanks for this. I'm planning to stay in the UK until we get into 2021 when we will know our status with EU countries. This should give me and the dog enough time in the UK to settle into van life and allow space to enjoy/regret/reflect on* this leap of faith. :giggle:
* I'll delete as applicable in 12 months.

OP
OP
JC2001

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH