Alternative LNB for maxview dome

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Emmenay, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. Emmenay

    Emmenay Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Ratings:
    +282
    I have today replaced the twin lnb on my maxview dome as part of a major overhaul/damage repair.
    I have replaced it with an icecrypt professional twin lnb and it seems to have a massive improvement in sat finding compared to the original.
    The system was taking 2-3 mins to find a signal (sometimes unable to lock on at all), but now is taking 20-30 seconds with a stronger/better quality signal.
    My question to the professionals amongst us is this;
    Is the Icecrypt professional a suitable alternative, have I stumbled on a real good improvement or am I just setting myself up for a fall so to speak?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,989
    Spooky as I have been playing all day here in Portugal with my Mobilesat system and changing the LNB. With a 0.1db one fitted I can pull in BBC,ITV etc at around 65/75% and Sky pay channels up to 95% - with the standard LNB that came with the Mobilsat the BBC is around 50% or less and the Sky pay channels 80%. Pleased with my new LNB and will test it around Portugal and across Spain on the way home. Might be down to the fact that they fit the basic LNB because of cost.
     
  3. Emmenay

    Emmenay Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Ratings:
    +282
    I will be heading home to spain in a few weeks (as I recall just around the corner to your good self) so I will be better positioned to give a report on reception.
    Fingers crossed I can get a new dome cover in time!
     
  4. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    Ratings:
    +6,678
    John did you buy that LNB from near Pedro's if so please tell him where from as we will be down there on the 6 th January and I would not mind trying a different one

    Thanks Alan
     
  5. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,989
    Alan, morning...... no I brought it with me, but I'm sure that Pedro can source one..
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. rally58man

    rally58man Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    cannock
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi my dome is a mxl007 twin LNB would the Icecrypt professional fit would you know.
    Cheers
     
  7. Emmenay

    Emmenay Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Ratings:
    +282
    Yes that's the one that I fitted it to although not long after I changed the dome to a crank up version which is tons better for Europe.
     
  8. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    I used to fit satellite systems, and that was in the day that a good LNB could cost more than some of todays systems. The LNB is the most important part of the system if you are keen to receive weak signals.
    Buy the best spec one you can afford and you will be surprised the difference it will make.
     
  9. rally58man

    rally58man Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    cannock
    Ratings:
    +4
    Off to Spain with maxview and getting new LNB as abovementioned . What about Skew do I have to remove dome when I get past mid France and adjust Skew. Also will it still be astra 2.
    Yes I know it's a long shot but what to give it the best shot. I have an old pace sat box (sky) with freesat card or a icecrypt receiver box. Any advice welcome.
    Regards kev
     
Loading...

Share This Page