Aldi 800watt generater is it big enough to charge batterys

Jun 19, 2014
Cardiff
MH
Low Profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi Aldi are selling a 240v ac/ 12volt dc 800 watt generator on Sunday would it be big enough to charge batteries on motorhome it is 2 stroke 50/1, 4 litres tank it does not say the weight .Robert

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Because its not inverter technology. Its 2 stroke and will stink and a good possibility of destroying MH electrics. You pays your money and takes a chance, but personally I wouldn't bother.
Well I didn't see that coming

I would have replied as per UKBill, why has this never been used as a reason to weigh in all the Kippors?

ukbill

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 3, 2011
Pinoso
MH
4 berth low profile
Exp
starting on saturday 10/3/2012
ok sorry didnt know ya reasoning but i would agree with you

ukbill

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 3, 2011
Pinoso
MH
4 berth low profile
Exp
starting on saturday 10/3/2012
my kippor is great and the fact it annoys makes it even greater

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
MH
AT Comanche C Class
Exp
In our 4th year. Had caravans and VW campers previously
Just had a look on Aldi's web site at the generator.
It does what it says on the tin (top).
WORKZONE.
It is not a quiet generator, it is very noisy, especially as it is a two stroke.
OK for building sites but not for camp sites, and I wouldn't put my neighbours through hell by running it at home.

It's not motorhome friendly really. (n)

Tootles

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 14, 2013
Lancaster
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Was a newbie, now a Middie.
A lot of problems with these gen sets. Firstly, they are two stroke, and you have to mix the stuff up in the correct proportions. Many problems with leakage of fuel, which then 'melts' the rubber feet. They are very noisy, and they produce loads of exhaust smoke, and spares are non-existent. Plus, they aren't full sine-wave, and so battery chargers, camera chargers etc, can catch fire if plugged into them.