Air con.....

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Dodgey, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Five Roads Alyth
    Ratings:
    +254
    We've got the Colman TZR (?) air con on Winne and though it works it's not especially cold, so, can these be regassed/serviced and any one know where, preferably in the Midlands.
    Daft really as we don't use it much but I do like things to work properly......
     
  2. dazzer

    dazzer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,698
    Location:
    In my house
    Ratings:
    +102
    I think pretty much any con specialist would be able to re-gas it for you.

    As far as i know they all have the same connection for re-gassing regardless of manufacturer (but i might be wrong with that one!!).

    If a garage type air con cant do it just open the yellow pages and find a refrigeration engineer instead.
     
  3. Ralph-n-Bev

    Ralph-n-Bev Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6,476
    Location:
    Wrenthorpe, Wakefield.
    Ratings:
    +12,903
    We are supposed to be having a red hot summer this year. Hottest since the 70's. mmmmm i remember that one :Cool: stand pipes in the streets as well.
    Fingers crossed.
    So you might well be using it lots this year. We have had our car 's air con re gassed . It really made a difference too . So I'm sure the MH could be done.
    Bev
     
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,975
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,953
    Does it use R134a gas or the old R12 stuff
    Geo
     
  5. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Five Roads Alyth
    Ratings:
    +254

    No idea, however I do know what you're on about and I do know that the cab air is on the new stuff (R134a?) as we had that gassed up last year so I'd assume the roofs the same???
     
  6. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,490
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,340
    I may be wrong,as I often am,but I didnt think they could be regassed.
    You can always contact Daves mobile RV at Cannock. He will tell you if it can be done.
    I had my dashair regassed there last year.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,594
    correct...if its the old stuff it cant be regassed as no-one can get the gas any longer.(allegedly)

    it can be converted to the new stuff but involves replacing every bit of rubber in the system first.....O rings, seals, hoses etc.
     
  8. motorvating

    motorvating

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Hinckley
    Ratings:
    +28
    When did the gas change?
     
  9. metalmickey

    metalmickey

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    wakefield, yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    r12 can be replaced with r22 the year of change was about 1992
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,594
    i stand corrected.....:Blush:

    Q. Are there different types of refrigerant?
    A. Yes, Isceon 49 or RS-24 (R12 was used up to October 2000 but its use is now banned) is used for vehicles manufactured up to 1993, later vehicles use R134a. Refrigerant gases must never be mixed or cross-contaminated.




    that'll mean a full and total evacuation of the old gas and a refill of new gas which will be charged in full as there is no old gas to recycle.

    usually a charge is only made for any EXTRA gas needed to top up the system (what they take out is very accurately weighed) after evacuation but as the old gas will have to be disposed of the full amount of new gas will be charged.
     
  11. delbert

    delbert

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the Cab air on my Damon RV re gassed last year, I also asked the guy to have a look at the 2 roof units, the guy climbed on the roof took the covers off and said that he could see no way to re gas them, he said that both were sealed units.
     
  12. hullcity

    hullcity

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a sunny airco on my machzone silvermint i whould like to ask same question
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,594
    there must be filling/evacuating valves somewhere.

    cant be filled and pressurized at factory without them.

    american valves may be different to european ones though.
     
  14. delbert

    delbert

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's exactly what I said, but he said that he couldn't find any valves, he also said that he had come across it before, I have a mate that imports RV's next time I see him I will ask him as he has to remove the units to get them in his workshop
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,350
    Not necessarily John, the units may be evacuated and filled by a machine which crimps the line .. no valve..

    Have a look at a domestic fridge.. you won't find valves..

    You can buy retro fit valves, I believe Halfords used to do them,
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,594
    but over time the system will get condensation and impurities in it and failure will follow.
     
  17. Landy lover

    Landy lover Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Zummerzet
    Ratings:
    +6,642
    I had the same query a while back and asked Duncan at Star Spangled Spanner and he said they were sealed units exactly the same as a fridge the only service was to clean and lub the fan if necessary - fridges seldom need attention nor do they need servicing - one thing we find that stops the cold air is the foam filter behind the main vent if that gets dirty and dusty it can have a marked effect - just take it out and wash it and let it dry
     

Share This Page