AGM OR LEAD BATTERY (1 Viewer)

Jun 24, 2020
FOLKESTONE KENT
Funster No
MH
Burstner A576
Exp
I'm a newbie
Can anyone help me, my leisure battery just went kaput, was giving off carbon monoxide set the alarm off, touched it is was roasting hot, put it a bucket of water to cool it down before getting g rid of it, it boiled the water, now I need a new one thought about AGM one it’s class A for wild camping as well but heavy anyone know which is better the AGM or lead.
Martin

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
I sold my new AGM and bought 2x 140ah sealed lead acid for my new van.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
I agree with Spriddler eliminate the other components as being OK before replacing it and risking another over charging event.

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
Then if the charging g circuitry is all good I would go Gell os sealed lead acid.
Assuming that your charger will be OK for Gell.

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
I went for an 85ah Exide gel in 2019 when our battery did the same (had a shorted cell and got hot) very pleased with it, they can be discharged to 20% without damage.

What do you think about AGM Lenny HB? :giggler:

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
AGM are really not suitable as leisure battery.

You either have faulty battery or the charger is over charing you need to check before fitting a new battery as if its the charger it will kill the battery.
The battery will have been giving off hydrogen sulphide not CO.

Type of battery you fit depends on your usage and what your charger is capable of charging correctly.

OP
OP
M
Jun 24, 2020
FOLKESTONE KENT
Funster No
MH
Burstner A576
Exp
I'm a newbie