Aerials and TV's

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Uschi, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. Uschi

    Uschi

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have just purchased a Swift Suntor and getting rid of a few teething problems we are really happy with Foxy (her name). However, we are still not able to solve an aerial problem. The new TV works brilliantly connected the House areal, but despite a new amplifier, is not working well with the Status 530 directional area installed on top of Foxy. We get analogue pictures but not digitial channels. We live in Ipswich in Suffolk. We have asked just about everybod(y), but can't find any decent advice either from caravan/motorhome dealers of areal specialists. Help pretty please?:Sad::Sad::Sad:
     
  2. mick noe

    mick noe Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    near Boston Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +603
    more info please:Smile: what happens when you scan for channels on your digi box ? does it give any on screen message? must say omni directional arials not much cop in my experience:Sad:
     
  3. GuitarDave

    GuitarDave

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Signal problem

    I'm not sure where you are located in Suffolk when you try and use the motorvan aerial.
    There are some areas that I have visited that require a vertically polarised antenna i.e a normal house aerial turned 90 degrees sideways. It is sometimes necessary to invest in a cheap outdoor aerial and mount it on a pole just to get a good picture, You would not get a digital signal strong enough in some places with the Status caravan unit.

    It all comes down to signal strength in the end:thumb:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,237
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,504
    it may be you arent pointing directly at (or very near directly) the transmitter.

    anologue signal is pretty broad and the aerial only needs to point roughly in the correct direction to get a picture, but a digi signal is much narrower and fairly accurate pointing is needed.

    also.....is the aerial set to the correct 'plane'...vertical or horizontal...try turning the bottom handle to the other 'plane' then try tuning again.

    tune to a weak anologue channel then tune that, by moving the aerial, to the best possible reception.....then tune digital.
     
  5. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,442
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,319
    :welcome: The tv dose have a digital tuner yes, cos yours truly was trying to tune in a none digital tv for about a week before I twigged:Blush::roflmto:
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,237
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,504
    the status 530 is a directional aerial mick....you're thinking of the 305 'flying saucer'
     
  7. Terry

    Terry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,897
    Location:
    South yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,030
    Hi Uschi and welcome :thumb:
    start from scratch- look at the direction the ariels point on nearby houses and point your in that direction,make sure the amplifier is turned on and all the cables conected :thumb: then check they are into the tv/freeview box :thumb:If alls well do a first time instaltion :thumb:
    If that does not work get back to us ::bigsmile:
    terry
     
Loading...

Share This Page